Independent laboratory finding

D-Protin: Citizens Protein Project 2 finding (2025)

Last checked 19 September 2026. A few details are still being checked against the original document.

D-Protin. Status: Lab-flagged (independent test).

The Citizens Protein Project 2 (14 Nov 2025) measured 13.57 g protein per 100 g in D-Protin and flagged aflatoxin 7.06 µg/kg, taurine; no FSSAI action is on record as of 19 Sep 2026.

Classification
Independent lab test finding: Lab-flagged (independent test)
Tested by
No regulator action; independent test result (Citizens Protein Project 2, published study)
Reference
Citizens Protein Project 2, Medicine, 14 Nov 2025; per-product data from protein-project.pages.dev (extracted 19 Sep 2026)
Latest action
14 November 2025
Last checked
19 September 2026details being verified

Photo: Generic Drug Research (5896) (8493711422).jpg by The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (Public domain). All photo credits.

Independent test or study, no regulator actionTier 4: independent test or study

The Citizens Protein Project 2: the first publicly funded study of protein supplements in India

Medicine (Wolters Kluwer) · Citizens Protein Project 2, Medicine, 14 Nov 2025; per-product data from protein-project.pages.dev (extracted 19 Sep 2026) · 14 November 2025

No regulator has acted on this finding. It comes from a published study or a private testing company, and the brand may dispute it.

View original source

Scope. A record here does not by itself mean a product or company is unsafe or banned today. Regulatory actions can apply to one batch, one formulation, one period or one state. Always check the linked government document for the current position, and tell us if something is out of date. How we label records.

Below: Blacklisted's explanationWe explain what the test or study found. No regulator has acted on it.

Key facts

Brand
British Biologicals (being verified)
Study category
Medical
Protein measured
13.57 g per 100 g
Pack and price tested
500g at Rs 695
Heavy metals
None above limit of quantification
Aflatoxin (total)
7.06 µg/kg, below the FSSAI limit for foods not specified of 20 µg/kg (units:, being verified
Progesterone
Below limit of quantification
Undeclared sugar
None detected
Taurine
8.74 mg/100 g
Regulator action
None on record

D-Protin was one of 34 products tested in the Citizens Protein Project 2, published in Medicine on 14 Nov 2025. The laboratory measured 13.57 g protein per 100 g and reported: aflatoxin 7.06 µg/kg; taurine 8.74 mg/100 g. D-Protin, a diabetic-nutrition powder, was one of three products in which aflatoxin was detected and had low protein for its category; no heavy metals or hormones were found.

Figures are from the project's results site; units for metals, hormones and aflatoxin are being checked against the paper. No FSSAI action on the product is on record.

What this means for you

Detected is not the same as over the limit

The study reports what the laboratory found. Aflatoxin figures are below FSSAI's limit of 20 µg/kg for foods not specified; heavy-metal and hormone figures are reported without a limit comparison and units are being verified.

Undeclared sugar and taurine are label questions

Sucrose or fructose not on the label, and taurine that can inflate protein readings, are the study's main concerns for medical powders.

This is a record of official orders, not medical advice. Do not stop a prescribed medicine without asking your doctor or pharmacist.

Official sources and primary records