Independent laboratory finding

B-Protin: Citizens Protein Project 2 finding (2025)

Last checked 19 September 2026. A few details are still being checked against the original document.

B-Protin. Status: Lab-flagged (independent test).

The Citizens Protein Project 2 (14 Nov 2025) measured 10.12 g protein per 100 g in B-Protin and flagged cadmium, aflatoxin 11.18 µg/kg, progesterone, undeclared sucrose, taurine; no FSSAI action is on record as of 19 Sep 2026.

Classification
Independent lab test finding: Lab-flagged (independent test)
Tested by
No regulator action; independent test result (Citizens Protein Project 2, published study)
Reference
Citizens Protein Project 2, Medicine, 14 Nov 2025; per-product data from protein-project.pages.dev (extracted 19 Sep 2026)
Latest action
14 November 2025
Last checked
19 September 2026details being verified

Photo: Service members, DoD civilians and by U.S. Army (cc0). All photo credits.

Independent test or study, no regulator actionTier 4: independent test or study

The Citizens Protein Project 2: the first publicly funded study of protein supplements in India

Medicine (Wolters Kluwer) · Citizens Protein Project 2, Medicine, 14 Nov 2025; per-product data from protein-project.pages.dev (extracted 19 Sep 2026) · 14 November 2025

No regulator has acted on this finding. It comes from a published study or a private testing company, and the brand may dispute it.

View original source

Scope. A record here does not by itself mean a product or company is unsafe or banned today. Regulatory actions can apply to one batch, one formulation, one period or one state. Always check the linked government document for the current position, and tell us if something is out of date. How we label records.

Below: Blacklisted's explanationWe explain what the test or study found. No regulator has acted on it.

Key facts

Brand
British Biologicals
Study category
Medical
Protein measured
10.12 g per 100 g
Pack and price tested
200g at Rs 305
Heavy metals
cadmium 0.015 mg/kg (units:, being verified
Aflatoxin (total)
11.18 µg/kg, below the FSSAI limit for foods not specified of 20 µg/kg (units:, being verified
Progesterone
0.00291 mg/kg (units:, being verified
Undeclared sugar
sucrose 4.83 g/100 g
Taurine
3.75 mg/100 g
Regulator action
None on record

B-Protin was one of 34 products tested in the Citizens Protein Project 2, published in Medicine on 14 Nov 2025. The laboratory measured 10.12 g protein per 100 g and reported: heavy metals (cadmium 0.015); aflatoxin 11.18 µg/kg; progesterone 0.00291; undeclared sucrose 4.83 g/100 g; taurine 3.75 mg/100 g. The weakest medical product on protein and one of only three with aflatoxin, B-Protin was also the only product in the study to show cadmium, progesterone and undeclared sucrose together. It had failed on protein in the 2024 round as well.

Figures are from the project's results site; units for metals, hormones and aflatoxin are being checked against the paper. No FSSAI action on the product is on record.

What this means for you

Detected is not the same as over the limit

The study reports what the laboratory found. Aflatoxin figures are below FSSAI's limit of 20 µg/kg for foods not specified; heavy-metal and hormone figures are reported without a limit comparison and units are being verified.

Undeclared sugar and taurine are label questions

Sucrose or fructose not on the label, and taurine that can inflate protein readings, are the study's main concerns for medical powders.

This is a record of official orders, not medical advice. Do not stop a prescribed medicine without asking your doctor or pharmacist.

Official sources and primary records